Author Topic: Associations with Anna's music  (Read 1191 times)

Petefrombristol

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Associations with Anna's music
« on: January 14, 2014, 09:54:47 AM »
Maybe we've already done this, or maybe it's just a dumb idea, but it was prompted by one of Anna's answers to the most recent Q and A on Tumblr, viz:

"I am curious as to what songs bring certain memories to people’s minds, because I love the way songs can encapsulate a moment in time, and a song can forever have a certain association."

Now, at the risk of coming over all Proustian, does anyone have any particular memories associated with Anna's songs? Not memories of particular gigs, but other associations.

I'm not very good at this, but I suppose I have to start. At the risk of repeating myself to the point of being really boring (as opposed to just boring), I can remember, vividly, the first time I heard one of Anna's songs: Desire came on the kitchen radio just as I turned it on, having come downstairs one afternoon in June 2011 while working at home. It stopped me dead in my tracks but I only caught part of Anna's name from the announcement, which made spotifying this, which I immediately did, a little challenging. I'm afraid that apart from that, and memories of gigs and pre-gigs, nothing particularly extraordinary has happened to me since then! I usually listen to Anna, and other music, while walking, usually with Harry the Dog, so I'm afraid many of my associations are with less than glamorous moments connected with that!

electriclight

• View Profile
Re: Associations with Anna's music
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2014, 10:45:05 AM »
What a good idea Pete!